Greetings, Welcome, and Ulrich’s Web

Welcome to the first post in this blog, and welcome to the fall/winter term here at Carleton!  I am starting anew this term, too, having just returned from sabbatical.  Lots of changes here in the Library (come and see for yourself!).

For those of you who have not met me yet, my name is Janet and I am the Women’s and Gender Studies librarian here at Carleton University.  I also take care of Sociology, Anthropology, and Sexuality Studies.  As well, I am a part time student here at Carleton (perpetually so it would seem) so I am very well acquainted with student stress!

I am hoping to use this blog to inform you of new resources that may be of interest to you, and perhaps about some other happenings that are relevant to Women’s and Gender Studies.  If you have anything that you would like me to cover specifically, send me an email at janet <dot> hempstead <at> carleton <dot> ca.

We have a new resource that I am very excited to tell you about… we have just subscribed to Ulrich’s Web!  Why should this excite you, too?  Because if you have ever wondered whether or not the article you are about to use in your paper is from a “scholarly” source, you now have a place where you can look that up, without having to come the the Research Help Desk to use our print copy.  For those of you who are looking for an appropriate journal where you can submit an article for publication, you can check that out here, too.  And open access journals are included… in fact, 300,000 serials of all types worldwide.  Check it out!

